COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | COLGATE GMAIL | Click to go Libraries

SubjectsPlus: Statistics - World

Bookmark and Share
Before You Begin
This is a selective list. Statistical data may be found in many other places, including books and journal articles, in print, on microfilm, on CD-ROMs, and online. You may find them as:
  • Preformatted tables
  • Online interactive datasets that allow you to create custom tables to print or download
  • Maps or atlases
  • Raw data that needs to be downloaded and imported into statistical analysis software. These kinds of data typically require you to read the data dictionary, which explains what the coded variables actually represent, and construct your own formulas to create the statistics you need.
Techniques for locating statistics include:
  • Find a book or journal article about your topic, and check the sources that they used.
  • Search the Library Catalog for STATISTICS and words that describe your topic
Public Opinion Data may appear in some of the resources below, but also check our Public Opinion Subject Guide.

If you have questions as you are working, please click on the Ask a librarian icon.  We will be happy to work with you.
Searching for Data in the Catalog
International Data

UNdata Unrestricted Access Some full text available
UNdata is the United Nations Data Access System which provides access to current, relevant and reliable statistics. Some data goes back 60 years. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.  UNdata also has links to a very large number of national data and statistics organizations and agencies.

UN Development Programme Open Data Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Data includes expenditures for development activities and development coordination, as extracted from the UNDP general  ledger, but due to the global nature of the organization and differences in reporting transactions, some inconsistencies may be found. Development activities is a UN system agreed classification that includes costs classified as either programmes or development effectiveness activities, both of which contribute to the effective delivery of development results. This data therefore does not include all expenditures involving funds administered by UNDP. In some cases, negative balances are seen when projects are managed at the award or fund level. Information organized by country or project.

Data (World Bank) Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Recognizing that transparency and accountability are essential to development, the World Bank Group provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years. The data is available in Arabic, French, and Spanish in addition to English.

NationMaster.com Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Coverage: current. Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA World Factbook and other sources.

ICPSR Unrestricted Access Some full text available
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Colgate is a member and data not available on the Internet can be requested from the University representative. Inquire in the Economics Department. Although the majority of the data deal with the U.S., significant data sets are available for other countries.

Population Reference Bureau DataFinder Unrestricted Access
PRB focuses on four core themes: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures - Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.

World factbook Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Annually produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency

FAOSTAT Unrestricted Access
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional  data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.

International Financial Statistics Restricted Access Some full text available
Coverage: 1900-present. Provides time series data for balance of payments,banking, exchange rates, interest rates, employment, and other economic concepts. (note: there are multiple libraries of data at the IMF eLibrary site - Colgate only subscribes to the International Financial Statistics - we do not subscribe to the other data libraries)

Basic Country Health Profiles for the Americas. Unrestricted Access
The Pan American Health Organization provides this information.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics Unrestricted Access
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.

Infonation Unrestricted Access
From the United Nations, information on population, health, economy, and technology by country. Not as detailed or historical as UNData. Data displayed as bar chart

Statistical Yearbook (UN) Unrestricted Access
Print (1948- ): Case Ref & Case Main HA12.5 U63 LASR CD-ROM (1982-2002): HA12.5 .U632 online: connect to online - editions available may vary

IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series) Unrestricted Access
Census microdata for social and economic research. IPUMS-International is a new project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.  At the IPUMS site - the Integrated Health Interview Series is also available.

Demographic Yearbook (UN) Unrestricted Access
Print (1948- ) Case Ref & Case Main HA17 .D45 LASR CD-ROM: HA17 .D452 (historical suplement 1948- 97)

GEOHIVE Global Statistics Unrestricted Access
A site with geopolitical data, statistics on the human population, Earth and more. The main kind of data you can find here is on the population of regions, countries, provinces and cities.

Office of Population Research at Princeton University Unrestricted Access
The archive at the Office of Population Research contains links to a number of datasets they have collected as well as the ability to search within their collection. The collections are rich in both foreign and US data.

World Population Profile Unrestricted Access
From the U.S. Census Bureau: 1998 is the latest published compendium and analysis of data on population, fertility, mortality, contraceptive use and related demographic topics by the U.S. Census Bureau. The Special Focus section of the report provides an update on one of the fundamental international health and demographic events of our time--the worldwide HIV/AIDS pandemic.

International Data Base (IDB) Unrestricted Access
From the U.S. Census Bureau, a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

Childhood Under Threat: The State of the World's Children Unrestricted Access
From UNICEF, includes a statistics' tool that allows you to organize and display development indicators and reports. Data in custom tables from 2005- .

World Health Organization Statistical Information System Unrestricted Access
The WHO Statistical Information System is the guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization. Most WHO technical programmes make statistical information available, and they will be linked from here. You also have the possibility to search by keywords within the WHOSIS or throughout the entire WHO site.



Women Stats Project Unrestricted Access Some full text available Resource contains images
One of the most comprehensive compilations of information on the status of women in the world. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. It combs the extant literature and conducts expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 310 indicators of women's status in 174 countries

World Database of Happiness Unrestricted Access Some full text available
This database focuses on the study of happiness, aka "subjective well-being."  It contains both an extensive bibliography on the literature of happiness as well as data and surveys on the topic.  It is the brainchild of the Dutch sociologist, Ruut Veerhoven, at Erasmus University. 

Country or Region Specific Data
Asia & Pacific
Statistical Indicators for Asia and the Pacific Unrestricted Access
Statistical Indicators for Asia and the Pacific is a publication designed to provide up-to-date monthly data for the purpose of assessing the demographic and economic trends in countries or areas of the region. Data are presented in the form of time series on a monthly or quarterly basis, with selected series accompanied by charts. [Note: currently free - may change to a subscription model - users should notify the Digital Resources Librarian if there are problems accessing this product.

China Data Online Restricted Access Some full text available
Coverage: current. Provides access to monthly reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, and census data.

International historical statistics. Africa, Asia and Oceania CASE REF HA4675 .M552 Restricted Access
Latest volume covers 1750-2005.

Europe
Eurostat Unrestricted Access Some full text available
The statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

European Social Survey Unrestricted Access Some full text available
A social survey designed to chart and explain the interaction between Europe's changing institutions and the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of its diverse populations. Free registration. Data downloads in SAS, SPSS, POR, STATA, Statistica, NSDstat, Dbase, and a variety of delimited text formats. For the data savvy only.

Eurydice: the Information Network on Education in Europe Unrestricted Access
Descriptions of individual countries education systems, data, and comparative studies

EES European Election Studies Unrestricted Access
1979-

Elections in Europe: A Data Handbook CASE Ref. JN 45.E443 2010 Unrestricted Access
Includes breakdown by parties, registered voters , invalid votes

Americas
Political Database of the Americas Unrestricted Access Some full text available
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile. PDBA offers centralized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

International historical statistics: the Americas 1750-2005 Case Ref HA175 .M55 2007 Unrestricted Access
A useful compendium of historical statistics.

Statistics Canada Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Statistics Canada, a member of the Industry Portfolio, produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life.


E-Stats Canada Unrestricted Access
Accept the license and you have access to a wide range of annually updated data.

CES Canadian Election Study Unrestricted Access
1965-

Political Database of the Americas, Electoral Systems and Data Unrestricted Access
Coverate of years varies with country
Need Other Data?
The resources listed above are a relative few of the many available on every topic. The following websites may lead you to other data sources.

Scholars' Lab Digital Resources at the University of Virginia Unrestricted Access

Statistical Resources on the Web (from the University of Michigan Documents Center) Unrestricted Access

EconData.net Unrestricted Access

Data on the Net Unrestricted Access
From the University of California, San Diego, a searchable database of data resources on the Internet.

CISER (Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research) Unrestricted Access

United States Specific data



Last updated: July 28, 2010
This page maintained by: SubjectsPlus Administrator
Powered by SubjectsPlus