COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | COLGATE GMAIL | Click to go Libraries

SubjectsPlus: International Students

Bookmark and Share
Getting Help

Librarians are professionals who are here to help you navigate the library, brainstorm ideas, and find excellent sources for your research. To contact a librarian select the Ask a Librarian link on almost any page of the Library's web site. There is also an International Students Library Liaison, contact this person by clicking on the name to the right.

Places to Study in the Library
There are 2 Colgate Libraries, Case Library located in the Case-Geyer Center and Cooley Science Library located in McGregory Hall. Cooley has science and engineering materials and Case has everything else. Both places are great for studying.
Understanding Plagiarism

Plagiarism is a complex but important scholarly issue.  Although many cultures have a collectivist view of text ownership, in the US credit is expected to be given to the owner of an idea when it is borrowed.  It is not acceptable to copy large portions of another’s work, instead it is suggested that lengthy ideas be paraphrased and shorter snippets be quoted while the original author is given credit. Credit is given through consistent use of citation. This section contains resources that are intended to help you understand plagiarism better. The next section contains links to resources that will help you to cite sources.


Citing Sources: Avoiding Plagiarism Unrestricted Access
Colgate University's resource for plagiarism. It is broken up into 3 parts: use a consistant system for citing sources, avoid plagiarism, and enclosing borrowed language in quotation marks.

Georgetown University - What is Plagiarism? Unrestricted Access
Georgetown's plagiarism resource for students. This resource covers many dimentions of the plagiarism discussion.

Rutgers University - What is Plagiarism? Unrestricted Access Resource contains video
Rutgers University has put together 3 short videos on Plagiarism. These videos describe Plagerism, show what type of statments must be cited, and then tests your understanding.
Citing Sources

Avoiding plagiarism requires the use of citation. Citation is used to attribute the ownership of an idea to its original author or authors. Below are some resources that can help to you cite resources correctly and use a consistent style. Your professors will tell you which citation style they prefer for your papers.
 

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Free online version of Hacker's famous guide to citing research. Excellent resource, and works as a great online addition to the Writer's Guide.

Citation & Style Guides Unrestricted Access
Online information about commonly used citation and style guides, e.g., MLA, APA, etc., Refworks, and a list of print guides available in the Colgate Libraries.

OWL Online Writing Lab (from Purdue) Unrestricted Access
Provides great information and tips for writing a research paper, as well as using APA or MLA for citations.
Writing Resources
Writing & Speaking Center Unrestricted Access
The Colgate Writing and Speaking Center offers students one-to-one assistance with essays and oral presentations. Our mission is to help any writer or speaker at any stage of the process, from brainstorming initial ideas to revising a final draft or reviewing an oral performance.

OWL Online Writing Lab (from Purdue) Unrestricted Access
Provides great information and tips for writing a research paper, as well as using APA or MLA for citations.
Beginning Research
Beginning Research at Colgate Unrestricted Access
This site can help you navigate the new and different expectations you will encounter when doing research at the college-level. The site provides basic information you will need to know right away when you start doing research, as well as important advice, explanations, and useful strategies.
Finding Books
Things you need to know about finding books at Colgate University Libraries:

1. In Colgate Libraries you have unrestricted access to most library materials, it also means that you must learn How to Find Books . If you cannot find the book you are looking for, Ask a Librarian for help!

2. Colgate Libraries organize books by the Library of Congress call number system.  This means that resources on similar subjects are located near each other.  If you find one book of interest, check the books near it.

3. Although Colgate Libraries have a huge number of books sometimes we may not have exactly what you need for your research. Search the library catalog first, followed by Connect NY. Try WorldCat last.
4. The Colgate Library does not collect the texbooks you will need for your classes. For texbooks you may go to the Colgate Bookstore located off campus on Utica Street. The Colgate Cruiser stops infront of the bookstore.
Books: Search the Library Catalog
Finding Journal Articles
Colgate University has many different databases that are used to find articles. Below are some databases that cover a wide range of subject areas.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Access Some full text available
Coverage: 1975-present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 4,600 journals (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed)

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Restricted Access
Coverage: 1951-present. Indexes and asbstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.

Web of Science Restricted Access Some full text available
Coverage: 1989-present. Access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and/or Arts & Humantities Citation Index. This resource has broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholary articles.  A feature which is somewhat unique to this resource is citation searching.  Using an important historic reference - one can see the more recent articles which cited the key reference.

Leisure Reading
Colgate Libraries do not collect a large amount of popular fiction in any language. Below are some links to the foreign language fiction we do have. To search for foreign language materials in the catalog, click "go" from the main search box and a new search box comes up, below that box is an option for "Advanced Search" the advanced search option allows searching by language.


Foreign Language News
Case Library has a print collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals. Some of them are in foreign languages. This collection is on the 4th floor, see map.

International Student Resources
Office of International Student Services (OISS) Unrestricted Access
Studying at Colgate as an international student is exciting and rewarding, but there are also many governmental, cultural, and even personal obstacles to overcome. OISS provides services to help you with these challenges so you can have an excellent experience at Colgate.
American Cultural Resources
There are many websites that describe themselves as tools about adjusting to American culture and colleges, but many seem to want to sell services or advice about getting into American Universities. You are past that point and are now an international student at an American university, below are 2 links to excellent sites that will help you understand American culture better.
Library Jargon

Every field of study has its own terms and language, libraries are no different.  Part of learning how to use libraries includes understanding the terms used.  Below are two useful resources for international students learning how to navigate the library. First, is a multilingual chart of terms used in libraries, it includes Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, and Spanish. Second, is a list of definitions of the terms in the context of libraries.

  1. Multilingual Table of Library Terms
  2. Definitions of Library Terms


Last updated: July 28, 2010
This page maintained by: SubjectsPlus Administrator
Powered by SubjectsPlus