COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | COLGATE GMAIL | Click to go Libraries

SubjectsPlus: Elections

Bookmark and Share
Comprehensive Sites
Project Vote-Smart Unrestricted Access Some full text available
This national non-partisan, non-profit effort researches, tracks and provides to the public, independent factual information on over 13,000 candidates and elected officials. Voting records, campaign issue positions, performance evaluations by special interests, campaign contributions, backgrounds, previous experience, and contact information are available.

Politics1.com Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Info about candidates, comprehensive links to news and humor sites, parties, special interest groups, calendar, etc.

RealClear Politics.com Unrestricted Access
Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RCP is every morning and throughout the day. RCP culls and publishes commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day.

Congress.org Unrestricted Access
A service of Capitol Advantage and Knowlegis, LLC; private, non-partisan companies that specialize in facilitating civic participation.

Google Elections Unrestricted Access Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Enter through a clickable map of the United States to find out information about each candidate and his (or potentially her) activities. Use the Issues area to track news items on topics like the economy, immigration, healthcare, and others.

GODORT Elections Unrestricted Access
Maintained by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association

Yahoo! U.S. Elections Unrestricted Access
List of election links


Election News

Fact Checking
FactCheck.org: Annenberg Political Fact Check Unrestricted Access
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, "a nonpartisan, nonprofit, consumer advocate for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases."

PolitiFact.com Unrestricted Access
Joint venture of the St. Petersburg Times and the Congressional Quarterly. Features the "Truth-O-Meter" ratings of candidates statements.

Washington Post Factchecker Unrestricted Access
Political statements researched and rated for truthfulness.

FlackCheck.org Unrestricted Access Resource contains video
From the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, a video-based counterpart to FactCheck.org. Uses parody and humor to debunk false political advertising, poke fun at extreme language, and hold the media accountable for their reporting on political campaigns


Candidate information
President
Newt Gingrich (R)
Barak Obama (D)
Ron Paul (R)
Mitt Romney (R)
Rick Santorum (R) - suspended campaign 4/10/12

House - New York 22nd District
coming soon

Access other candidate pages from Comprehensive Sites

Campaign Ads
Living Room Candidate Unrestricted Access Some full text available Resource contains video
Online exhibit from the American Museum of the Moving Candidate offers television commercials for each presidential candidate from the years 1952 to 2008, along with an analysis of each major party, their advertising campaigns, and a map showing the results of each election.

Youtube Politics Unrestricted Access Resource contains video
LInk to candidates' Youtube videos

See Comprehensive and News sites. Fact checking sites cover ads too.
Campaign finance information
Federal Election Commission Unrestricted Access Some full text available
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. This site is useful for its statistics on registration, voting, and campaign finances

Opensecrets.org Unrestricted Access
A non-partisan non-profit organization, the Center for Responsible Politics specializes in the study of Congress and particularly the role that money plays in its elections and actions. Data about campaign finances available at this site, as well as CRP press releases.

MapLight.org Unrestricted Access
Mashup of private and government information: voting records (Thomas), contributions (CRP data from FEC), and support for bills (hearings, news databases, organizational websites). Most interesting cross-tabulation is contributions received by yes/no vote for each bill.

Public Campaign Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Non profit non-partisan organization dedicated to sweeping reform that aims to dramatically reduce the role of special interest money in America\'s elections and the influence of big contributors in American politics.

Campaign Money Unrestricted Access
Search contributions by zip code, address, name or political action committee. Special reports include contributions made by celebrities, industries, companies, and more.

More suggestions

Election Statistics
How to Research Elections
CASE Ref JK976.M37 2000

Look through call numbers JK1965-JK2217  in the reference collection in Case-Geyer for titles such as American Votes, Vital Statistics on..

Search the catalog. Elections may be used as a subject heading (e.g. Elections -- United States) or as a subdivision (e.g. Presidents -- Elections). Combine with the subdivision Statistics.

Election Information from Office of the Clerk of the House Unrestricted Access
Results by candidate, state, party from 1920-

Federal Election Commission Library Unrestricted Access
Results for national elections, some in Excel spreadsheets, 1996-2008

ANES, American National Election Studies Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Five decades of data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

General Social Survey Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, including voting behavior. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies. Polls U.S. Data available for download. Also available as part of the SDA Statistical Documentation and Analysis Archive at UC Berkeley, which allows online analysis.

ICPSR Unrestricted Access Some full text available
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Colgate is a member and data not available on the Internet can be requested from the University representative. Inquire in the Economics Department. Although the majority of the data deal with the U.S., significant data sets are available for other countries.

U.S. Census. Voting and Registration Unrestricted Access
From the Current Population Survey 1964-

New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825 Unrestricted Access Some full text available
This ongoing project represents collaboration between the American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collection and Archives. With funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the project will eventually include data from all 25 states that existed during this time period. After that, they can navigate over to the Quick Search function, or they can also browse by candidate, office, year, or state. Data may be downloaded for offline analysis



Election Rules
New York State Board of Elections Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Information for candidates (running for office, campaign finance requirements, etc.) and voters (how to register, etc.).

Federal Election Commission Unrestricted Access Some full text available
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. This site is useful for its statistics on registration, voting, and campaign finances

Vote411.org Unrestricted Access
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund

 

Register to Vote/Absentee Ballots
New York State information Unrestricted Access
Click on "Voting Information"

Other States - Project Vote Smart Unrestricted Access

Vote411.org Unrestricted Access
Project of the League of Women Voters Education Fund

 


More information
Case.posc Delicious weblinks
List of more places to find information. Click on words or phrases of interest, like campaigns



Last updated: July 28, 2010
This page maintained by: SubjectsPlus Administrator
Powered by SubjectsPlus