COLGATE UNIVERSITY | MOODLE | MY COLGATE | COLGATE GMAIL | Click to go Libraries

SubjectsPlus: Chinese

Bookmark and Share
Guide for Chinese Language Learners
Below you'll find materials focused on the Chinese Language Learner, collected by your librarian and professors. To find materials on research literature, please see the Literature guide.
Newspapers
China Times Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Newspaper from Taiwan

China Youth Online Unrestricted Access Some full text available
China Youth Daily, official paper of the Chinese Communist Youth League: news stories, & features on topics of special interest to youth, including education, overseas study, college entrance exams, job hunting, fashion, personal relationships, etc.

China.org.cn Zhong Guo Xin Wen Yu Bao Dao Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Gateway to contemporary news, events and web resources. Published in Beijing by the China Internet Information Desk, a government-led initiative.

Lian He Zao Bao Unrestricted Access
A daily newspaper from Singapore.

People's Daily Unrestricted Access
Chinese, English & Japanese editions of official newspaper with today's top news, economic information, archive, special topics, culture, & other features

Shijie Ribao World Journal Unrestricted Access
Chinese language newspaper published in New York.
Dictionaries
ABC Chinese-English comprehensive dictionary Case Reference PL1455 .A33 2003 Unrestricted Access
2003

Chinese Characters Unrestricted Access
Online, searchable version of "Chinese Characters: A genealogy and dictionary," available in print at CASE Ref. PL1171 .Z46 1998. Also includes electronic versions of copyright free texts. 

Chinese-Tools English-Chinese dictionary Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Chinese dictionary searchable in Chinese (simplified or traditional), pronunciation (Pinyin or Zhuyin - bopomofo) or English. Chengyu, proper names, examples, synonyms and calligraphy.

Dict.cn Unrestricted Access
Online Chinese dictionary created for Chinese individuals living abroad, by students at Indiana University.

nciku Online English Chinese Dictionary Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Multiple searching options, as well as a writing input section.

Oxford Chinese Dictionary CASE Ref PL 1455 .O938 2010 Unrestricted Access
English-Chinese/Chinese-English dictionary, covering modern idiomatic coverage of general Chinese and English. Includes up-to-date translations (as of 2010) and new words from fields such as computing, business, literature, media, arts, and colloquial expressions.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Restricted Access
Fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using a range of languages. Languages currently included:  Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish

Perapera Chinese Popup Dictionary Unrestricted Access
Firefox addon: Put your mouse over any Chinese words on a webpage and it gives you the pronunciation and definition. English, German, & French dictionaries; Pinyin and Zhuyin supported; Simplified or Traditional characters. Save and export words for studying later!

Words-Chinese.com Chinese Language Dictionary Unrestricted Access
Chinese-English dictionary with a million vocabulary entries. Search for English words, Chinese pinyin, Chinese characters, and Chinese words. Provides image results for systems not set up to display Chinese characters.

zdic.net Chinese Character Searching Unrestricted Access Some full text available
No English, just characters.
Web Sites
GLOSS (Global Language Online Support System) Unrestricted Access Some full text available Resource contains audio
Resources from the Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center for learning to read and speak in a variety of languages. Searchable lesson materials for self-study at all levels.

Marjorie Chan's ChinaLinks Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Annotated links to scholarly websites on Chinese language and literature, created by a professor at OSU.

Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center Unrestricted Access
This resource center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film, art, music, and culture. Published in conjunction with Ohio State University and the journal Modern Chinese Literature and Culture.

Pinyin Learning Tools Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Each pinyin syllable in Chinese can have 4 possible ways to pronouce by varying the pitch/tone. This website comes with Audio files, games and tonal study guides to help you learn pinyin. Also includes Pinyin Pro, which will compare your pronunciation to the model sound.

Pinyin Practice Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Website with online study materials and quizes for practicing pronunciation.

YellowBridge Chinese Language & Culture Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Includes dictionary, online flash cards for language learning, Chinese fonts, games, and ebooks with side-by-side translation. Many resources for improving your reading skills. Flash cards include Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced sections. 
Images
Visualizing Cultures (MIT) Unrestricted Access Resource contains images
Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. Images of every sort are introduced and examined here—in partnership with contributing institutions and collections, and with the collaboration of experts devoted to transcending the printed word and hard-bound text.

eBook(s)
Chinese Classical Literature Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Small collection of online Chinese texts. This site contains Chinese classics with each character hyperlinked to its definition and etymology. No Chinese software is necessary - characters are displayed as images. Links to English translations are included for most works.

Modern Sketch Unrestricted Access Some full text available Resource contains images
This rare Chinese periodical, Modern Sketch (Shi Dai Man Hua) for 1934 to 1937 contains caricatures, cartoons, and humorous writing that defined the golden era of Shanghai’s comic art during the mid-1930’s. MIT also has an online exhibition of this material with additional pages.

Project Gutenberg: Chinese ebooks Unrestricted Access Some full text available
Public domain electronic texts available in Chinese.


Last updated: July 28, 2010
This page maintained by: SubjectsPlus Administrator
Powered by SubjectsPlus